Conseil d’administration

Bernard Proulx, Président

Officier supérieur de l’Aviation royale canadienne doté d’une expérience spécifique en gestion de projet d’acquisition de grands avions, en soutien logistique intégré, en formation et en entretien d’aéronefs, Bernard a pris sa retraite après 35 ans de service. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en arts et sciences militaires du Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston, avec une spécialisation en histoire militaire ainsi que d’un certificat en gestion des ressources humaines du St. Lawrence College. Né à Valleyfield, au Québec, il débute sa carrière militaire dans l’aviation comme technicien de systèmes intégrés et avionique et apprend en gravissant les échelons pour prendre ensuite sa commission aux services de Sa Majesté.

Il aime être impliqué dans la communauté de plusieurs manières. Il a été conseiller municipal, puis adjoint au maire du quartier militaire Middletown Park de la BFC de Trenton, chef louveteau et scout pendant de nombreuses années et récemment membre du conseil d’administration et coordonnateur de sentier des Friends of Carp Hills

Bernard et son épouse Josée aiment l’ambiance chaleureuse et de petite ville du village de Carp. Ils apprécient toutes sortes de sports et d’activités de plein air, du curling au centre local au ski, à la randonnée, au canoë et au camping en arrière-pays, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.


Mitchell Besner, directeur

Mitchell BesnerAvocat depuis 1988, Mitchell Besner a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts de la University of Western Ontario en 1983, puis a ensuite étudié à l’Université d’Ottawa où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en common law en 1986 et un baccalauréat en droit civil en 1987. Mitchell a été choisi pour agir comme rédacteur en chef de la Revue de droit d’Ottawa en 1984, admis au Barreau du Québec en 1988 et au Barreau du Haut-Canada en 1992. Il est en pratique privée depuis 1988. Après avoir opéré son propre cabinet pendant 15 ans, il s’est joint à la firme Mann & Partners, LLP le 1er avril 2013.

Mitchell a représenté plusieurs organisations sans but lucratif tout au long de sa carrière. Il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Garderie du lac Dow, au Conseil des dons planifiés de Centraide (Ottawa) et au comité de nomination du conseil d’administration du Club de Golf Rivermead.


Paul Leduc, trésorier


Patricia den Boer, directrice

Patricia den BoerPatricia den Boer est stratège de la communication et conseiller principal chez Powerhouse Communications Group d’Ottawa, une société qu’elle a fondée en 1998. Son parcours professionnel se concentre dans les médias, où elle a travaillé comme agent des affectations sur le terrain à CBC, CTV et dans la presse professionnelle. Sa carrière médiatique a également évolué vers le journalisme spécialisé en affaires comme directrice de la rédaction et vers la communication stratégique organisationnelle et la communication du changement dans les secteurs public et privé.

Forte de 21 ans d’expérience, Patricia a travaillé avec des organismes publics et privés, et des associations, pour les aider à entreprendre des initiatives importantes dans leurs entreprises et est reconnue pour sa force à communiquer le changement grâce à un engagement fort et tout en gérant les risques.

Sa carrière a été consacrée à travailler avec des cadres pour l’avenir de leurs entreprises, en développant un ensemble approprié de stratégies et de tactiques de communication, ainsi que les qualités essentielles de leadership en communication et les capacités nécessaires au succès des opérations et à la mise en place d’un avantage concurrentiel.

Patricia est reconnue au niveau national comme conférencière sur les thèmes de l’engagement des parties intéressées, de la communication et des communications internes sur la marque. Elle est également professeur associé à la Sprott School of Business de la Carleton University, Ottawa.

Redonner à la communauté est un principe important pour Patricia. Elle est administratrice à Foundation Board for the Queensway Carleton Hospital et préside le Algonquin College Advisory Committee on Marketing and Management Studies à la School of Business. Elle est également ancien Président (2006) du Réseau des femmes d’affaires d’Ottawa.


Jason Kelly, directeur


Susan McLeod, directrice


Sylvie Morel, directrice

Sylvie MorelJusqu’en novembre 2008, Sylvie Morel était vice-présidente, expositions et programmes au Musée canadien des civilisations (SMCC) où elle a travaillé pendant 35 ans. Au cours de sa carrière au MCC, elle a dirigé le développement de plus de 250 expositions, de simples vitrines jusqu’aux superproductions majeures, de même que la promotion et la circulation de quelque 35 expositions itinérantes par année au Canada et au niveau international. Elle a dirigé un programme très actif et diversifié d’activités publiques au MCC résultant en la présentation de plus de 2 000 programmes.

Sylvie est présidente sortante d’ICOM Canada (Conseil International des musées Canada) et membre du conseil du Fonds canadien pour la compréhension internationale par la culture depuis 2008, a été coorganisatrice du premier Dialogue culturel Canada-Chine à Pékin et membre de la délégation canadienne à Dakart’ 92, la biennale des arts de Dakar au Sénégal.

Elle s’est grandement impliquée dans la communauté. Elle a été présidente de l’adhésion et membre fondatrice de Bytown Bears, présidente du Comité consultatif du Museum Technology Programme au collège Algonquin, coordonnatrice de la campagne Centraide et bénévole pour divers organismes, dont la Ottawa Food Bank et la North Grenville Historical Society. Elle a également été membre du Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market. Elle est membre du Conseil d’administration de la Fondation Hnatyshyn, directrice nationale de la Fédération canadienne des Amis de Musées et membre du comité consultatif du programme Sommelier du Collège Algonquin. Elle continue d’œuvrer pour des musées et fondations culturelles comme consultante et bénévole. En 2003, elle a été mise en nomination pour le Prix Femmes de mérite du YMCA-YWCA (catégorie arts et culture). Elle est récipiendaire de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II 2009 de l’Association des musées canadiens.


David Peters, directeur

David PetersDavid Peters s’est joint à l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC) à l’âge de 16 ans comme technicien de cellules d’aéronefs. Il a ensuite obtenu un B. Sc. en génie civil à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Pendant son séjour à l’université il s’est de nouveau joint à l’armée, d’abord dans la réserve de l’ARC et ensuite dans les Forces canadiennes comme officier du génie militaire. Dave a servi avec les Forces canadiennes au Canada, en Europe et avec les Nations Unies en Inde et au Pakistan. Il a pris sa retraite du génie militaire comme lieutenant colonel après diverses assignations en génie civil et de combat. Il a ensuite intégré la fonction publique canadienne avec le programme Préparation aux situations d’urgence Canada comme directeur de la coordination des opérations de mesures d’urgence. Ses responsabilités ont alors consisté à élaborer et diriger le Centre de coordination des opérations d’urgence du gouvernement fédéral; planifier et gérer un certain nombre de programmes associés y compris : aide financière fédérale pré et post catastrophe, identification des points vitaux (infrastructures), et opération des abris, des activités de mobilisation et des mesures opérationnelles de fonctionnement pour le Programme de continuité du gouvernement fédéral.

Après sa retraite de la fonction publique fédérale comme directeur général des opérations à EPC en 1997, il a travaillé comme consultant en préparation aux situations d’urgence pour un certain nombre de ministères du gouvernement fédéral et dans le secteur privé. Ces consultations ont mis à profit son expérience et ses connaissances dans les domaines de la planification de l’aide financière, de l’identification des infrastructures essentielles, de la planification opérationnelle et de la gestion, particulièrement lorsqu’il y avait des implications importantes intergouvernementales et secteur privé.


Michael Robb, directeur

michael-robb

Board of Directors

Bernard Proulx, President

Bernard retired from the Royal Canadian Air Force as a senior officer after 35 years of service, with particular experience in the management of major aircraft acquisition projects, integrated logistics support, training and aircraft maintenance. He holds a Degree in Military Arts and Science from the Royal Military College of Canada in Kingston, with a special interest in Military history as well as a Certificate in Human Resource Management from St. Lawrence College. Born in Valleyfield, Quebec, he started his military career in the Air Force as an Integral System and Avionics technician, learning from the ground up subsequently taking his commission with Her Majesty Services.

He enjoys being involved in the community in one-way or the other. He was a Ward councilor and later the deputy mayor of CFB Trenton Middletown Park military quarter, a Cub and Scout leader for many years, and recently joined the Friends of Carp Hills as a Board Director and Trail Coordinator.

Bernard and his wife Josée love the warmth and small town feeling that the village of Carp offers. They both enjoy all sorts of sports and outdoors activities, from curling at the local ring to skiing, hiking, canoeing and backcountry camping, just to name a few.


Mitchell Besner, Vice-President

Mitchell BesnerA lawyer since 1988, Mitchell Besner obtained his B.A. from the University of Western Ontario in 1983 then attended the University of Ottawa where he obtained his Bachelor of (Common) Laws in 1986 and a Bachelor of Civil Law in 1987. Mitchell was selected to act as an editor of The Ottawa Law Review in 1984 and admitted to the Barreau du Quebec in 1988 and the Law Society of Upper Canada in 1992. He has been in private practice since 1988. After operating his own firm for 15 years Mitchell joined Mann & Partners, LLP on April 1, 2013.

Mitchell has represented a number of non-profit organizations throughout his career. He sat on the Board of Directors of Dow’s Lake Daycare and on the Planned Giving Advisory Council of the United Way (Ottawa), and served on the Board of Director’s nominating committee at the Rivermead Golf Club.


Paul Leduc, Treasurer

Paul Leduc cropped

A professional accountant since 1975, Paul was born in Lachine, Quebec. He obtained his Bachelor of Commerce from Loyola College (now part of Concordia University) at the age of 19. He started his career with a firm of chartered accountants and then moved to manufacturing and engineering firms where he served as financial controller. For the last 16 years of his career, he was Chief of Finance for the National Gallery of Canada and the Gallery’s Foundation. He retired in 2010 after 41 years of work.

Paul is married and has an adult son. He enjoys golfing, biking and skiing. He is also an avid model railroader with an extensive layout.


Patricia den Boer, Director

Patricia den BoerPatricia den Boer is a communication strategist and senior advisor with Ottawa-based Powerhouse Communications Group, a company she founded in 1998. Her professional background is in media, during which time she worked as an in-the-trenches assignment editor for CBC, CTV and the trade press. Her media career has also expanded to business journalism as a managing editor and to organizational strategic communication, and change communications in the public and private sectors.

With 21 years’ experience, Patricia has worked with public and private organizations, as well as associations to help them undertake significant initiatives in their businesses, and is known for her strength to help communicate change with strong engagement while managing risks.

Her career has been spent working with executives for the future of their enterprises, developing the appropriate mix of communication strategy and tactics, as well as the essential leadership communication skills and capabilities necessary for successful operations and competitive advantage.

Patricia is a nationally recognized speaker on the topics of stakeholder engagement, communication and internal brand communications.  She is also an associate instructor at the Sprott School of Business (Carleton University, Ottawa).

Giving back to the community is a strong tenet for Patricia. She is a Director on the Foundation Board for the Queensway Carleton Hospital and chairs the Algonquin College Advisory Committee on Marketing and Management Studies at the School of Business. She is also a past- president (2006) of the Women’s Business Network of Ottawa.


Jason Kelly, Director


Susan McLeod, Director


Sylvie Morel, Director

Sylvie MorelSylvie Morel was, until November 2008, Vice-president, Exhibitions and Programs Branch for the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation (CMCC) where she worked for 35 years. Over the span of her career at the CMC, she has directed the development of more than 250 exhibitions from one-case shows to major blockbusters and the promotion and circulation of up to 35 travelling exhibitions per year in Canada and internationally. She has directed a very active and diverse public activities programme at the CMC that resulted in the presentation of more than 2,000 programmes.

Sylvie is Past-president of ICOM Canada (International Council of Museums Canada) and a member of the Board of the Canadian Fund for International Understanding through Culture since 2008, co-organizing the first Canada-China Cultural Dialogue in Beijing, and was a Canadian representative to Dakart ’92, biennale des arts in Dakar, Senegal.

She has had considerable community involvement. She was the membership Chairperson and founding member of the Bytown Bears, the Chairperson of the Advisory Committee of Museum Technology Programme, Algonquin College, a United Way Campaign coordinator, and a volunteer for various organizations including the Ottawa Food Bank and the North Grenville Historical Society. She was also a board member of the Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market. She sits as a member of the board on the Hnatyshyn Foundation, is National Director of the Canadian Federation of Friends of Museums and is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Algonquin College Sommelier Program. She continues to do work for museums and cultural foundations as a consultant and a volunteer. In 2003, she was a nominee for the YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction Award (Arts and Culture category). She is the recipient of the 2009 Canadian Museums Association Distinguished Service Award and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.


David Peters, Director

David PetersDavid Peters joined the RCAF Auxiliary at 16 as an Airframe Technician. He later graduated from the University of New Brunswick with a B. Sc. in Civil Engineering. During his time at UNB he re-joined the military, first in the RCAF Reserve and later the Canadian Army as a military engineering officer. Dave served with the Canadian Forces in Canada, Europe and with the UN in India/Pakistan. He retired from military engineering as a Lieutenant Colonel after various construction and combat engineering appointments. He then joined Canada’s Public Service Emergency Preparedness Organization (EPC) as Director of Emergency Operations Coordination. His responsibilities in that position included designing and running the federal government’s Emergency Operations Coordination Centre as well as planning and managing a number of associated programs including federal pre and post disaster financial assistance, vital points (critical infrastructure) identification, as well as operating shelter, mobilization and operational measures for the federal government’s Continuity of Government Program.

After retiring from federal public service as EPC’s Director General of Operations in 1997 he worked as an emergency preparedness consultant for a number of federal government departments and in the private sector. These consultations made use of his experience and knowledge in the fields of disaster financial assistance planning, critical infrastructure identification, and operational planning and management, particularly where there were significant intergovernmental and private sector implications.


Michael Robb, Director

michael-robb